The most beautiful gable wall

In my absence from the site a beautiful gable wall arose. It includes a little inlet for a free-standing wood using fire stove that will be placed in afterwards – we layered this with brick to protect the bags from the heat. Above it was placed a sleeper and even further up a round window (one we thought had also been stolen but was not!).

The earth we used in our natural plaster mix was obtained from an area that they are clearing for new RDP houses. Jakkie found it exactly at the right time. We had done some experiments on earth plasters sourcing earth wherever we could but on D-day all our sources pulled out. Jakkie found this earth as she drove to one of our gardens one day. With some negotiations, the tip truck delivered the earth to our site, instead of taking it to be dumped. Lovely going sister!

Thank goodness for lots of brains and technology. Jakkie suggested we re-design the gable wall above the fireplace to include an extra long lintel. In my absence, I explained how to “put the wall together” to my dearest boyfriend via Skype. You can imagine trying to describe where to do what and what is what from afar. But mr 10 out of 10 got the just of it and took a day to help the builders fly this gable wall up to the sky in two days. I think he qualifies for extra kisses upon my return.

And it looks lovely!

We have also had the wonderful addition of James, a builder, who is overseeing things. He has given my family a lot of assurance that things are moving along in his capable hands. So we move on – little by little. 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Hi I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am
    here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a
    all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I
    have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the great jo.

    Reply

  2. It’s awesome designed for me to have a website, which is good designed for my experience. thanks admin

    Reply

  3. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after browsing through a few of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly happy I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

